Welcome to the Cadet Program

What if you were told that there was a dynamic, structured youth program that offered Canadian youth a variety of interesting and challenging activities?
What if you were told that this same program developed in youth an increased level of self-confidence, self-esteem and self-awareness?
Cadets are motivated to improve their physical fitness, to work harder at their academic studies and to give back to their communities through volunteerism.

The Cadet Program also has a direct impact on Canadian society as a whole. There is definite value in having well-rounded, community-minded, experienced young people who are ready to assume their places as tomorrow’s leaders and decision-makers.

What is the Cadet Program?
The Cadet Program is the largest federally-sponsored youth program in Canada that includes the Royal Canadian Sea, Army and Air Cadets. It is a national program for young Canadians aged 12 to 18 who are interested in participating in a variety of fun, challenging and rewarding activities while learning about the sea, army and air activities of the Canadian Forces.






One of the aims of the Canadian Cadet Movement is to promote physical fitness. At 534 Air Cadets, we hold a Fitness or Sports Night at least once a month (see training schedule for full details).

A high standard of physical fitness is a requirement for many advanced training courses and exchanges. To safely and effectively complete training, it is important that cadets be fit and healthy. Before applying for certain courses and exchanges, cadets may be required to achieve a certain level on the Cadet Fitness Assessment. The Lord Strathcona Medal is also based on personal fitness, and requires Silver, Gold or Excellence in the Cadet Fitness Assessment.

Four levels may be achieved. These include Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Excellence. Criteria for each level differs according to age and gender.
The CFA is composed of five evaluations, which are designed to evaluate cardiovascular fitness, muscular strength, and flexibility. These tests include:

20 meter shuttle run test (cardiovascular)
push-ups (muscular strength)
curl-ups (core strength)
back saver sit and reach (flexibility)
shoulder stretch (flexibility)

The overall incentive level is based on the level achieved in each section. The lowest incentive level of the push-ups, sit-ups, back saver sit and reach, and the shoulder stretch is dropped.

The overall incentive level is based on the lowest of the remaining four.

The levels are based on age and gender, and are rated as Participated, Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Excellence.